Bolshoi Theatre hails Alexei Ratmansky


A very important period in the life of the Bolshoi Ballet has come to an end which, before our eyes, is turning into history, though a full assessment of its overall significance still has to be made.

Under the direction of Alexei Ratmansky, the Bolshoi Ballet’s departing artistic director, marvelous dancers have been added to the Company and it has performed to full houses in the leading ballet cities of the world. Talented young dancers were not left stuck in the corps de ballet, while the majority of soloists were given the opportunity of extending their repertoire. A mass of very diverse titles appeared on the Theatre billboards, including the acclaimed productions of Ratmansky himself. As for the many supportive signs of attention which fell to the lot of the Company and its artistic director, they warrant separate enumeration and account.

It is difficult to fit five years into a single concert. But, for all that, the fragments chosen for it, represent most of Ratmansky’s ballets as well as the works of those choreographers who were introduced to the Theatre during his time there. Virtually all the Bolshoi Ballet leading dancers are taking part. Also invited to participate, are stars from other Ballet Companies who are friends of Ratmansky’s. The audience is in for one or two surprises.

Ratmansky Gala

Marius Petipa, Leonide Massine, Vasily Vainonen, Asaf Messerer, Alberto Alonso, John Neumeier, Twyla Tharp (© 1992 Twyla Tharp), Christopher Wheeldon, Yuri Possokhov, Alexei Ratmansky


Bolshoi Ballet Principals, Soloists and Artists:
Anna Antonicheva
Svetlana Zakharova
Marianna Ryzhkina
Anastasia Goryacheva
Natalia Osipova
Yekaterina Krysanova
Anna Leonova
Anna Antropova
Nelli Kobakhidze
Anna Nikulina
Chinara Alizade
Tatiana Lazareva
Anastasia Meskova
Nuria Nagimova
Anna Okuneva
Victoria Osipova
Olga Stebletsova
Anna Tikhomirova

Dmitry Gudanov
Vladimir Neporozhny
Andrei Uvarov
Yan Godovsky
Andrei Merkuriev
Ruslan Skvortsov
Andrei Bolotin
Morikhiro Ivata
Denis Medvedev
Vladimir Moiseyev
Ruslan Pronin
Gennadi Yanin
Vitaly Biktimirov
Ivan Vasiliev
Alexander Vorobiyov
Andrei Yevdokimov
Alexei Loparevich
Andrei Melanyin
Denis Savin
Andrei Sitnikov
Anton Savichev
Alexander Smoliyaninov
Pavel Dmitrichenko
Alexei Koryagin
Vladislav Lantratov

American Ballet Theatre Principal dancer
Nina Ananiashvili

Moscow Stanislavsky and Nemirovich-Danchenko Musical Theatre
Ballet Director
Sergei Filin

Mariynsky Theatre Principal dancer
Diana Vishneva

New York city ballet Principal dancer
Wendy Whelan

New York city ballet Soloist
Craig Hall

The Bolshoi Theatre Corps de Ballet and Orchestra

Moscow State Academy of Choreography Students

Pavel Klinichev, Igor Dronov

Beginning at 7 p.m.

Bolshoi Ballet Official Sponsor - BSGV